Troposphere Working Group Charter and Members

Follow

Charter

Introduction

GNSS can make important contributions to meteorology, climatology and other environmental disciplines through its ability to estimate troposphere parameters. Along with the continued contributions made by the collection and analysis of ground-based receiver measurements, the past decade has also seen new contributions made by space-based GNSS receivers, e.g., those on the COSMIC/FORMOSAT mission [1]. The IGS therefore continues to sanction the existence of a Troposphere Working Group (TWG).

 

Working Group Goals

The primary goals of the IGS TWG are to:

  • Assess/improve the accuracy/precision of IGS GNSS-based troposphere estimates.
  • Improve the usability of IGS troposphere estimates.
  • Confer with outside agencies interested in the use of IGS products.
  • Assess which new estimates should be added as “official” IGS products, and which, if any, official troposphere product sets should be discontinued.
  • Provide and maintain expertise in troposphere-estimate techniques, issues and applications.

 

Science Background

The primary troposphere products generated from ground-based GNSS data are estimates of total zenith path delay and north/east troposphere gradient. Ancillary measurements of surface pressure and temperature allow the extraction of precipitable water vapor from the total zenith path delay.

Water vapor, a key element in the hydrological cycle, is an important atmosphere greenhouse gas. Monitoring long-term changes in its content and distribution is essential for studying climate change. The inhomogeneous and highly variable distribution of the atmospheric water vapor also makes it a key input to weather forecasting.

Water vapor distribution is incompletely observed by conventional systems such as radiosondes and remote sensing. However, ground- and space-based GNSS techniques provide complementary coverage of this quantity. Ground-based GNSS observations produce continuous estimates of vertically integrated water vapor content with high temporal resolution over a global distribution of land-based locations; coverage is limited over the oceans (where there is no land). Conversely, water vapor can be estimated from space-borne GNSS receivers using ray tracing techniques, in which case solutions with high vertical resolution (laterally integrated over few hundred kilometers) and good oceanic/land coverage are obtained; these solutions however are discontinuous in geographic location and time.

Be it resolved that the IGS troposphere WG will:

  • Support those IGS analysis centers providing official IGS troposphere products.
  • Increase awareness/usage of IGS troposphere products by members of the atmospheric,meteorology and climate-change communities. Solicit the input and involvement of such agencies.
  • Create new IGS troposphere products as needed (as determined by consultation with the potential user community).
  • Determine the uncertainty of IGS troposphere estimates through comparison of solutions with those obtained from independent techniques, or through other means as appropriate.
  • Promote synergy between space-based and ground-based GNSS techniques through interaction with researchers in both fields.

 

References

[1] Schreiner, W., C. Rocken, S. Sokolovskiy, S. Syndergaard and D. Hunt, Estimates of the precision of GPS radio occultations from the COSMIC/FORMOSAT-3 mission, GRL 34, L04808, doi:10.1029/2006GL027557, 2007.

[2] Teke, K., J. Böhm, T. Nilsson, H. Schuh, P. Steigenberger, R. Dach, R. Heinkelmann, P. Willis, R. Haas, S. García-Espada, T. Hobiger, R. Ichikawa and S. Shimizu, Multi-technique comparison of troposphere zenith delays and gradients during CONT08, J Geod 85:395–413, DOI 10.1007/s00190-010- 0434-y, 2011.

 

Membership

         
NB: I have included the names of new subscribers to the IGS TWG email list, without necessarily confirming that they wish to be a part of the WG.
         
Last Name First Name Institution Country email
         
Ahmed Furqan Universite du Luxembourg Luxembourg furqan.ahmed@uni.lu
Amirkhani Mohammad Islamic Azad Univ. Tehran Iran m.amirkhani2008@gmail.com
Bar-Sever Yoaz JPL USA yoaz.bar-sever@jpl.nasa.gov
Bevis Mike OSU USA mbevis@osu.edu
Bock Olivier IGN-LAREG France olivier.bock@ign.fr
Boehm Johannes TU Wien Austria johannes.boehm@tuwien.ac.at
Bosser Pierre ENSG/DPTS France pierre.bosser@ensg.eu
Bosy Jaroslaw Institute of Geodesy and Geoinformatics; Wroclaw University of Environmental and Life Sciences Poland jaroslaw.bosy@up.wroc.pl
Braun John UCAR USA braunj@ucar.edu
Byram Sharyl USNO USA sharyl.byram@usno.navy.mil
Byun Sung JPL USA sung.h.byun@jpl.nasa.gov
Calori Andrea Univ. Roma "La Sapienza" Italy acalori@mendoza-conicet.gob.ar
Cao Wei Trimble Terrasat Germany wei_cao@trimble.com
Chen Junping Shanghai Astronomical Observatory China junping.chen@shao.ac.cn
Colosimo Gabriele Univ. Roma "La Sapienza" Italy gabriele.colosimo@uniroma1.it
Crespi Mattia Univ. Roma "La Sapienza" Italy mattia.crespi@uniroma1.it
Deng Zhiguo GFZ Germany deng@gfz-potsdam.de
Dick Galina GFZ Germany dick@gfz-potsdam.de
Dousa Jan GOP Poland jan.dousa@pecny.cz
Drummond Paul Trimble USA paul_drummond@trimble.com
Ghoddousi-Fard Reza Natural Resources Canada Canada rghoddou@nrcan.gc.ca
Guerova Guergana Univ. Sofia Bulgaria guerova@phys.uni-sofia.bg
Gustavson Terry ? USA? terry.gustavson@comcast.net
Gutman Seth NOAA USA seth.i.gutman@noaa.gov
Hackman Christine USNO USA christine.hackman@usno.navy.mil
Heinkelmann Robert GFZ Germany rob@gfz-potsdam.de
Herring Tom MIT USA tah@mit.edu
Hilla Steve NGS/NOAA USA steve.hilla@noaa.gov
Hobiger Thomas Onsala Space Observatory; Chalmers Univ. of Technology Sweden thomas.hobiger@chalmers.se
Januth Timon Univ. of Applied Sciences, Western Switzerland (?) Switzerland timon.januth@heig-vd.ch
Jones Jonathan Met Office UK UK jonathan.jones@metoffice.gov.uk
Langley Richard Univ. New Brunswick Canada lang@unb.ca
Leandro Rodrigo Hemisphere GNSS USA rleandro@hemispheregps.com
Leighton Jon 3vGeomatics Canada/UK jonny2vests@gmail.com
Liu George Hong Kong Polytechnic University Hong Kong zzliu2@gmail.com
Melachroinos Stavros Geoscience Australia (?) Australia stavros.melachroinos@ga.gov.au
Moeller Gregor TU Wien Austria gregor.moeller@tuwien.ac.at
Moore Angelyn JPL USA angelyn.w.moore@jpl.nasa.gov
Negusini Monia Inst. Radioastronomy (IRA); National Inst. Astrophysics (INAF) Italy negusini@ira.inaf.it
Nikolaidou Thaleia Univ. New Brunswick Canada Thaleia.Nikoaidou@unb.ca
Nordman Maaria Finnish Geodetic Inst. Finland maaria.nordman@fgi.fi
Pacione Rosa ASI/CGS Italy rosa.pacione@e-geos.it
Palamartchouk Kirill Univ. Newcastle UK kirill.palamartchouk@ncl.ac.uk
Penna Nigel Univ. Newcastle UK nigel.penna@newcastle.ac.uk
Perosanz Felix CNES France felix.perosanz@cnes.fr
Pottiaux Eric Royal Obs Belgium Belgium eric.pottiaux@observatoire.be
Prikryl Paul Communications Research Centre, Canada Canada paul.prikryl@crc.gc.ca
Realini Eugenio GReD - Geomatics Research & Development s.r.l. Italy eugenio.realini@g-red.eu
Rocken Chris GPS Solutions USA rocken@gps-solutions.com
Roggenbuck Ole BKG Germany ole.roggenbuck@bkg.bund.de
Rohm Witold Univ. Wroclaw Poland witold.rohm@igig.up.wroc.pl
Romero Nacho Canary Advanced Solutions Spain nacho@canaryadvancedsolutions.com
Santos Marcelo  Univ. New Brunswick Canada msantos@unb.ca
Schaer Stefan AIUB Switzerland stefan.schaer@aiub.unibe.ch
Schoen Steffen Inst. Erdmessung, Leibniz Uni Hannover Germany schoen@mbox.ife.uni-hannover.de
Selle Christina JPL USA christina.selle@jpl.nasa.gov
Sguerso Domenico Lab. Geodesy, Geomatics, GIS; Univ. Genoa Italy domenico.sguerso@unige.it
Soudarin Laurent Collecte Localisation Satellites France lsoudarin@cls.fr
Teferle Norman Universite du Luxembourg Luxembourg norman.teferle@uni.lu
Tracey Jeffrey USNO USA jeffrey.tracey@usno.navy.mil
van der Marel Hans TU Delft Netherlands H.vanderMarel@tudelft.nl
Waithaka Edward Hunja Jomo Kenyatta U. of Agriculture and Technology Kenya hunja@eng.jkuat.ac.ke
Wang Junhong UCAR/NCAR USA junhong@ucar.edu
Willis Pascal Inst. de Physique du Globe de Paris France willis@ipgp.fr
Xu Zong-qiu Liaoning TU China zongqiuxu@gmail.com
Zhang Shoujian Wuhan Univ. China shjzhangwhu@gmail.com

[Last updated December 2011]

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments